Fit for Sailing!

My dad celebrated a milestone birthday last week, so on Saturday evening, we celebrated by chartering a yacht on the Hudson. Our trip began in Jersey City, and we spent the first hour and a half sailing North to the George Washington Bridge. The skyline reflected the setting sun and it looked different with each passing minute. By the time we reached the bridge, the sun dipped too low for us to see it, and the city lights started flickering on. As we sailed back down the Hudson, back to the marina, we travelled parallel to the city which was completely lit up. I can’t explain how breathtaking it was, especially because I have begun to take the skyline for granted (being from New Jersey and all). I have to say that it was an amazing experience; the weather was perfect, and the city was breathtaking. One of the requests from the crew prior to our arrival was that we wear white for our journey. I definitely enjoyed putting together a practical, yet fun sea-worthy outfit!

IMG_20140802_180027131ed

IMG_20140802_180049002ed

IMG_20140802_180337529ed

IMG_20140802_180402339ed

IMG_20140802_180542118ed

 

10551636_964517013574410_429913125026206760_oed

 Shoes – Nine West | Bag – Kenneth Cole Reaction (Mushroom)

I decided to wear my fedora because well, let’s face it, I don’t wear it very often. I always pack it in my beach bag but I never end up wearing it. To me, floppy hats are better for the beach than fedoras, so this girl has been sitting in my closet for two years just waiting for her time. When I got ready for our trip on Saturday, I considered straightening my hair and immediately voted against it. I knew the ocean spray would not be too kind to straightened hair, so I decided to spray it with some Wind and Water Beach Spray and tousle it up before putting the hat on. Taking a hat was definitely a good call because it kept my hair in place despite the crazy breeze.

My favorite part of this outfit has to be the shoes. I mentioned in my previous post that I have to wear safety shoes to work, so I have been veering away from shoe sections during my shopping escapades. Recently. I was shopping at the outlets with my mom, and she insisted that I try on this pair and I’m so glad I did! They are ridiculously comfortable for heels, and I love the color and how perfect they are for everything summer. During that shopping trip I also invested in the crossbody, because I desperately needed one. It’s so darn useful, and it definitely came in handy during this weekend when I didn’t want to carry my giant bag with me.

All in all, it was a wonderful trip, and is definitely something I would love to experience again.

Happy August!

xO K

Leave a Reply

