College Educated!

It finally happened. I graduated. I am blessed to have been able to sit next to my best friend S during the entire ceremony, and to spend as much time with her as possible before she had to move back home. As I write this, I am still in shock at all that has happened this week. On Tuesday, S and I graduated from NJIT, and yesterday, my brilliant boyfriend graduated from Kean University. S also flew home last night. Her room is empty, I am eating Cheerios alone, and I can’t begin to describe what I’m feeling.

I’m excited, for all of the things coming our way; adulthood, working, making money and learning responsibility. I am excited that we never have to sleep sit through another class again, or stay up late doing homework and studying for exams. I’m a little relieved that we don’t have to live in a 10′ X 10′ dorm room anymore and that I can spread out my belongings and live an organized life. I’m thankful for my friends and family that supported me through not only the last four years, but my entire life. I wouldn’t have made it here if it hadn’t been for the hugs, the shared tears, the encouragement and the faith they all instilled in me.

I am also sad. I am sad because I met my best friend four years ago when we moved into the same dorm room as complete strangers, and now we had to say goodbye. I am sad because my entire four years at school can be summed up by this one person, who shared every moment with me, by my side. I am sad because I will miss staying up late studying, stressing over exams, drinking gallons of coffee to stay awake, being bored in class, dreading school, because I was able to spend all of it with her. I am sad because I don’t know when I’ll see her again, and the concept of her being so far away is too much for me to comprehend.

There is so much in life that is about to change, for me, for her, for my boyfriend, and for all of my friends who graduated this week with me. To all of us, I first want to say congratulations, because we made it. We worked hard, persevered, fought for our dreams and made it to this moment, now. I also want to say good luck, for all of the wonderful things coming our way. Life is just beginning, and there is so much we can do if we put our minds to it.

To S, I have to say this: I wouldn’t be here today if it hadn’t been for you. Whether it was holding me when I cried, or laughing with me at ridiculous things that no one would understand, you were always there to be by my side. You supported me when I wanted to create this blog, and you always told me that I could it. Even though I don’t know when I’ll see you again, I want you to know that my life would not be the same if I hadn’t met you four years ago. I would not be the same if I hadn’t met you four years ago. I hope that your dreams flourish, and that you are always happy, and that you come back to me soon.

 

To the Class of 2014, congratulations, and best of luck in everything you do. This new chapter will be just as beautiful as the last one.

xO K

One thought on “College Educated!

  1. It’s not goodbye though 🙂 It’s only the beginning of a whole new experience! And we will see each other soon! ❤

Leave a Reply

