The Pants

When I went to India this past winter, the first thing on my shopping list was patiala pants. You may know them as aladdin or a slightly baggy version of the popular harem pants, but they’re basically the same thing!ย I had seen various Bollywood celebrities rock these pants in their films or on the street, and I really wanted a pair of my own. I was lucky to findย two pairs, one blue and one black, and boy can I say that they are absolute perfection. They feel as comfortable as pjs, have a drawstring close, and have this gorgeous gold detail print all over them that makes them really versatile. Since this Mother’s Day was absolutely beautiful, I decided to wear my black pair for the first time.

IMG_20140511_172742329_HDRed

IMG_20140511_172911660_HDRedd

IMG_20140511_173102510_HDRed

IMG_20140511_173149551_HDRed

Shirt – American Eagle | Patiala Pants – Westside, Mumbai | Bangles – India

I decided to pair the pants with a pop of color, in this case a lacy pink sleeveless top. When deciding what to wear with these pants, I found that shorter tops worked better because they highlight the pleat detail at the top of the pants. Without seeing the seam where the pleats begin, you can’t really fully appreciate the style.

Chunky, colorful bangles added more pops of color and charm to the outfit, as well as a statement necklace. I find that when I wear pieces that I really love, I need to focus on my accessories to get the full effect I’m going for.

I hope you all had a wonderful Mother’s Day weekend!

xO K

Leave a Reply

