DIY Shimmer Blush

Sometimes when I’m bored, I like to experiment (insert evil laugh here). This past weekend I was staring at the half used compact of Maybelline Fit me! blush in “Deep Coral” that I haven’t used since I bought the Cover Girl Classic Color Blush and trying to decide if I wanted to do something with it. I decided to transform it into a shimmer blush, and I immediately started a mini make-up lab in my bathroom (this may be slightly exaggerated). In a few simple steps, the blush was done and the verdict was that it worked! I was able to take a blush that I didn’t really like too much and make it something I’m looking forward to wear especially in the Spring!

So! If you want to be a mad scientist like me and whip this up on your own here’s what you have to do:

1. Take the end of an eyeshadow brush (so the end is as narrow as possible) and begin breaking apart the blush in your compact. This is probably the most fun part.

IMG_20140419_232649829ed

 

2. Carefully put the crushed blush into a small bowl. I stress the word “carefully” because I did not take a picture of my attempt, which basically made my entire counter blush (you see what I did there?).

IMG_20140419_233756557ed

 

3. Then take any sort of shimmery eyeshadow or face shimmer and put as much as you want in your bowl. This may sound vague, but it’s really up to you how much shimmer you want or where you want to get it from. I used Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips in Waikiki Strip and instead of breaking up the compact, I brushed the top layer into the bowl. I’ve been using the Shimmer Strips for years to layer shimmer on top of my blush or bronzer, so I wanted to see if I could combine the two!

4. Once you add your shimmer, use a brush, popsicle stick, or shadow applicator to stir your powder so that the shimmer mixes well with your blush. You don’t want all of your shimmer in one spot!

5. After you’ve mixed it, comes another tricky part. Carefully pour the powder back into your empty blush compact (once I managed to wipe the blush off my counter, I replaced it with shimmer blush). Pat it down and then take rubbing alcohol and pour a decent amount over the blush. You want it wet enough that it sticks together in the compact.

6. Allow your brand new shimmer blush to dry for about 48 hours before you use it!

IMG_20140419_234538539ed

IMG_20140423_142439750_HDRed


The blush has a nice shimmer to it, and I’m really happy that I was able to find a new use for a product I didn’t like too much.

Happy experimenting!

xO K

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

