Smokin’ Smokey Eye

The smokey eye is one of those things I’m generally nervous to try. It’s such a bold look, and I was never sure what was too dark, or too bold, so I stayed away from it. I decided that it was time to get over it and give it a shot and I’m happy that I did. What I realized is that I can decide how dramatic I want to make it, and it’s honestly the perfect going out, or party look.

smokeyeye

To achieve this look:

1. Apply Neutrogena Nourishing Eye Duo Eyeshadow “Starry Night” (found here) in the base color on your inner lid. I chose not to wear it on my entire lid because I don’t like the feeling of layered eyeshadow, but if you don’t mind that go ahead.

2. Apply Sephora Collection Eyeshadow in “Starry Sky” (found here) on your outer lid. This step is important for the smokey eye because that’s where the smoke comes from! Be generous in applying this color because you want to achieve the drama. Apply it to your outer lid, and along your crease towards your inner eye.

3. Apply Sephora Kohl Waterproof Eyeliner in “Keep Black” along your top lashline and your lower waterline. Make the top line thick (I could’ve gone thicker but I didn’t). Then use the smudging end of the liner to smudge your liner into your shadow. If you are using a different liner that does not have a smudging end, use your finger or a brush to smudge your liner.

4. Apply two coats of Buxom Lash Mascara in Blackest Black.

It was actually pretty simple, and only took me about 5 minutes to do. If you want to be more dramatic, you can use black shadow instead of the “Starry Sky” along your outer lid. You can also draw a thicker line on your top lashline, and smudge liner along your bottom lashline instead of your waterline.

xO K

Leave a Reply

