Make Yourself Glow!

If you’re looking to add a natural glow to your face, or to enhance some of your favorite features, you should definitely invest in a highlighter. And no, I don’t mean a neon pink highlighter. I mean the kind of highlighter that when applied correctly, can give you flawless contour and a natural healthy glow.

I have two highlighters that I use interchangeably to achieve the look I’m going for, Benefit High Beam, and Yves Saint Laurent Touche Eclat in #3, Light Peach. I generally don’t wear make-up on my face (meaning no foundation, blush, bronzer, or highlighter) but when I do, I tend to go all out. The order I follow is: foundation (I use powder foundation), blush, then highlighter. I like using highlighter last because I don’t want to mute it by applying make-up on top of the highlighted areas.

IMAG3289ed

This is what my under eye looks like after using Benefit High Beam. If I’m going for a slightly shimmery or pearly look I use this highlighter. The applicator is a thin brush, and I apply the highlighter by placing dots wherever I want it to go, and then blending them with my ring finger.

IMAG3299ed

*Rule of thumb: Always use your ring finger to apply makeup to the delicate skin near your eyes, because you apply less pressure.

This is what my under eye looks like after using Yves Saint Laurent Touche Eclat in Radiant Touch in #3 Light Peach. I use this highlighter if I’m trying to cover up dark circles while adding shine. It gives me a more subtle look than High Beam, while still adding the glow I want.  Like High Beam, I apply the highlighter by placing dots with the brush and blending them with my ring finger.

IMAG3302ed

I know the YSL highlighter is quite expensive, but I definitely think it’s worth it. I bought it for a special event about a year ago, and I don’t use it often so it’s lasted me quite a while.

If I’m going for slightly shimmery or pearly look I use Benefit’s High Beam, and if I’m going for a more subtle, matte finish I use YSL’s Touche Eclat. If your complexion is similar to mine, then try to buy the same shade of the Touche Eclat. Any other shade might not blend as well with your skin tone.

xO K

Leave a Reply

