Goodbye Beautiful Summer

Summer’s winding to a close…I know, those words rip my heart out too. I don’t know where the 3.5 months went, but I know that I enjoyed every second of them. It was my first summer since college began where I didn’t get an internship, and I definitely have to say I don’t regret it. I initially made the decision to have this “Summer of Me” because I know that once I graduate and get a job, I’ll be working for the rest of my life. Don’t get me wrong, I loved working over the last two summers. My internships were enriching and I actually enjoyed waking up early and having the responsibilities that are tied with a full time position. I just needed to take this time to myself, to reflect over my life and experiences, and to figure out what I want from my future, and I needed to do it over the last full block of free time I would have.

I have reached so much clarity this summer, about myself, my relationships, my future, my hopes and aspirations, and of course, my blog. I found out who I can trust, who has my back, and who I can definitely live without. I finally realized that some friendships will never be what they used to be, and some friends are toxic…they will never be able to support you and care for you the way you want them to, no matter how many chances you give them. I’ve learned that family is not limited to the people you are related to by blood, and sadly sometimes the people who aren’t related to you are better family than the ones who are. I’ve learned to give people more chances, but to realize when no number of chances will ever be enough.

I’ve learned that it’s okay to spend time alone, and that I actually really enjoy being by myself sometimes. I think everyone needs to give themselves that time alone, to just sit and think, or read, or do something creative, or go for a walk, or just about anything. I fell in love with my boyfriend for the second time and realized that after two years together there is still a lot we don’t know about each other, and I’m excited that I can experience so much of life with him by my side.Β I realized that I really love yoga, trying new foods, and exploring new places. Though I’m really, really depressed that summer’s over, I’m excited to start my final year of college. Excited, nervous, overwhelmed, nostalgic, and sad, but we’ll go with excited for now.

All in all this summer was one of the best I’ve had so far. I laughed, cried, partied, relaxed, and lived my life to the absolute fullest. So with all of this: the happiness, the enlightenment, and the introspection, I say Goodbye my beautiful, perfect summer.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye Beautiful Summer

Leave a Reply

