Let’s Talk Body Butter!

I always go into stores like Bath and Body Works and The Body Shop and see the containers of body butter in yummy scents, and every single time I have to stop myself from buying a billion more. This got me thinking…what are the advantages of body butter over lotion? I mean, when I use it, I can literally feel the difference in thickness; body butter nourishes my skin a lot more than lotion does. After doing a little research, I found out that there are a lot of advantages to using body butter over lotion, especially if you have dry skin.

First of all, most body butters contain shea or cocoa butter and vegetable or some other type of oil which are great moisturizers. Shea and cocoa butter contain vitamins A, E, antioxidants and fatty acids which help them really nourish your skin. Because body butters are thick, they leave a layer on your skin that locks in moisture and protects your skin from the environment. Because it provides this layer, it moisturizes for longer, which is great for dry skin. Also, I’ve experienced that a scent in body butter form lasts longer on your skin than the same scent in lotion.

If the research didn’t convince you, just take my word for it!!Β My favorite body butters so far:

IMAG1880ed

Moringa Body Butter from the Body Shop…I have the mini one found here.

Sheer Water Lily Whipped Body Souffle from Victoria’s Secret.

They both are thick and smell really good, and I always feel refreshed after using either one. Granted it’s still spring and the weather is still fluctuating like crazy so I can get away with using something this thick. We will see what happens over the summer!

xO K

One thought on “Let’s Talk Body Butter!

Leave a Reply

